Programme

Sadly due to Covid-19 meetings have been suspended until further notice.  

Members will be notified when meetings resume.

Programme 2019 - 2020


Our Programme runs from September to June. Meetings start at 10am and finish at 12.30pm.

Hot drinks, home baking (and a chat!) are available from 9.30am.

Please CONTACT us for more information.

Saturday 21st September 2019 

AGM

CHAIRMAN'S CHALLENGE UPDATE

LANDSCAPE QUILT CONSEQUENCES - hands on sewing activity


Saturday 19th October 2019

LEAH HIGGINS "ROAD TO RUINS"

Talking about her creative journey from her first traditional patchwork quilts through creating more contemporary pieces, to developing her Ruins series of abstract quilts and more.


Afternoon: LEAH HIGGINS MINI WORKSHOP "COLOURFUL CITYSCAPES"


Saturday 16th November

CHRISTMAS DECORATIONS AND GIFTS WORKSHOP


Saturday 14th December 2019

CHRISTMAS PARTY


Saturday 18th January 2020

LINUS DAY  Group sewing and assembly day


Saturday 22nd February 2020

GILLIAN COOPER "USING SKETCHBOOKS TO IMPROVE QUILTS" talk


Friday 13th March 2020

One day workshop:  LIBERATING LOG CABIN 11: CURVES IN THE CABIN


Saturday 14th March 2020

JANICE GUNNER "PASTIME TO PROFESSION" talk


Saturday 25th April 2020

T.B.C.


Saturday 16th May 2020

"INTO THE WOODS"    Traditional Quilt Group Suitcase Collection


Saturday 20th June 2020 

ANGELA DAYMOND "COLOUR MY WORLD"

Take a trip around the world looking at how people have used traditional plants animals and minerals to colour cloth for centuries around the world. The process of natural dyeing has changed very little over time. You will hear about traditional

European plant dyes, travel east to view tribal mud resist dyeing to the blue indigo vats from Japan. The talk includes keynote presentation and stitched textiles.

Chairman's Newsletter

Previous Programme 2018-19


Saturday 15 June 2019

10.00 – 12.30 The QGBI’s Contemporary Suitcase Collection - "My Favourite Artist"


Saturday 15th September 2018

Speaker: Mandy Patullo "Thread and Thrift" - using old quilts and textiles

Workshop: Mandy Patullo "Folk Art Bird"


Saturday 20th October 2018

Speaker:Pat Ashton-Smith "Sense of Place" - landscape in textiles


Saturday 17th November 2018

Speaker: Helen Poremba "The Sewing Machine as the Artist's Tool"

Workshop: Gillian Harrison "Folded Japanese Patchwork Bags"


Saturday 15th December 2018

Christmas Party plus Secret Santa


Saturday 19th January 2019

Speaker: Debbie Hawthorn "3D Design Ikebana - Japanese Flower Arranging"


Saturday 16th February 2019

Speaker: Sheana Stevens "Design Inspiration from China and Japan"


Saturday 16th March 2019

Speaker: Leisel Lippestreu "Physiotherapy for Stitchers"

Workshop: Four Corners - Sharon Gray - Confetti Quilt/Fiona Brockie -

silk bonding/Deborah Pearce- Foiling and Embellishment


Saturday 6th April 2019

Workshop: Pat Archibald "Leaves in Lutrador"


Saturday 13th April 2019

Speaker: Sue Selwyn "The History of the Kimono"


Saturday 18th May 2019

Speaker: Lizzie MacDougall "Highland Story Quilts"